Lunchmeat vs. God

Standard

Thanksgiving has always been one of my favorite holidays.  When I was younger, my mom’s whole family would gather at my grandparents’ house for a few days to celebrate together.  It was the only holiday that we all spent together on a regular basis.  I have good memories of Thanksgiving.  Grandma would begin cooking days before and by the time everyone arrived the house was full of tantalizing aromas.  Of course the turkey was the centerpiece of the meal.  I waited all year for that turkey.

When I was in college I noticed that the school cafeteria would begin serving turkey related meals the closer we got to Thanksgiving.  But by the time November rolled around, I already had my eye on the prize… the Turkey Feast, the real deal.  So I spent the month of November actually avoiding the fake turkey in the cafeteria so I could maintain an appetite for the real turkey that I knew Grandma would be making.

Did you know that God wants us to have an appetite, as well?  Maybe not for turkey, but He wants us to be hungry for the things that He’s preparing for us in Heaven.  He wants us to be hungry for more of Him in our lives here on earth.  He wants us to be hungry for the lost, hungry for a move of the Spirit; hungry for the rewards he has planned for us in Heaven.  But I’ve noticed that many Christians don’t have an appetite for the things of God.  They have spoiled their appetite with too much of this earth.  Their appetite is just for this life and they have forgotten that this life is just a sample of what’s to come.  It’s not meant to fill you up; it’s just a foretaste of Heaven.

Think about it like this.  Now, I like Carl Budding Lunchmeat, you know the really thin sliced deli meat.  It’s pretty tasty and makes a nice sandwich, but I would be incredibly disappointed if I showed up at my Grandma’s Thanksgiving Feast and she served us Carl Budding Lunchmeat instead of real turkey.  You see, when you know what the real thing tastes like, you just won’t settle for a substitute.  That’s why I avoided the cafeteria’s fake turkey meals, because I knew that the real deal was just a few days away.  I didn’t want to fill up on the imitation turkey and spoil my appetite for my special feast.  But as Christians, we spoil our appetite for Heaven all the time by filling up with the stuff here on earth that was never meant to satisfy us, was never meant to take the place of our reward in Heaven, was only meant to be a sample of the greater things yet to come. 

Look at your appetites.  Have you settled for the temporary joys of this lunchmeat life while forgetting that the Thanksgiving feast called Heaven is just around the corner?  God is the one who has designed you to be motivated by rewards, and He holds the BEST rewards possible because He knows exactly what will make you excited!  Have you listened to the lie that Heaven is going to be boring and bland or just one big long church service with us sitting on clouds strumming harps?  Have you spoiled your appetite for the things of the Spirit?

Friends, I believe that Jesus is coming back very, very soon.   I believe that we are in the last days of life on this Earth.  Let’s read what Jesus said about the time in which we are living, in:

Matthew 24:4-14 “Jesus answered: “Watch out that no one deceives you. For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am the Christ,and will deceive many. You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these are the beginning of birth pains.

“Then you will be handed over to be persecuted and put to death, and you will be hated by all nations because of me. At that time many will turn away from the faith and will betray and hate each other, and many false prophets will appear and deceive many people. Because of the increase of wickedness, the love of most will grow cold, but he who stands firm to the end will be saved. And this gospel of the kingdom will be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all nations, and then the end will come.”

Notice how many times Jesus says “many”.  Many will turn from the faith, many will be deceived, and the love of MOST will grow cold.  I don’t know about you, but I have no intentions of being a part of the majority in this case.  I don’t want my love to grow cold; I want to maintain my appetite for God.  There are a lot of things this world offers to spoil your appetite.  You’ve got to keep your eye on the prize and maintain a healthy appetite for Heaven.  We don’t have much time left, Heaven in very real and very close.  Are you hungry for it?


About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

  1. Enjoyed your post! I completely agree and would add that it is our responsibility to serve a “Real Turkey Dinner” to as many folks as we have the privilage of having in our lives. Whether for a moment or a lifetime, will they sample the true love of Christ shining through us or will they leave our table without ever getting the chance to share a meal with us and will continue on their way thinking that the world’s version of spirituality is truth? May Jesus bless you as you continue to live your calling as a missionary momma.

Leave a Reply

