Daydreaming

Standard

One of my all-time favorite movies is “A Christmas Story.”  If you haven’t seen it, then you weren’t born in the 80’s.  Not only do I find the setting super nostalgic like the neighborhood that I grew up in.  But I find the humor is very similar to my own.  I can really relate to Ralphie too, because I’m a daydreamer.  I don’t dream about Red Ryder BB Guns or defending my family from Black Bart.  But I have day dreamed away literally years of my life… at least from Kindergarten through Junior High, at least.

When I was a child my favorite daydreams involved me being a hero and rescuing someone.  If I had time, the “Hero” daydream would progress into the “Last Words” daydream.  Having rescued someone from mortal danger, alas, I have thrown myself into the path of harm and born the brunt of the impact.  I now lay dying in a hospital bed.  Amazingly, my face looks angelically beautiful and not at all ugly and maimed.   My hair is perfectly smoothed and styled, even though it never is in real life.  Everyone comes into my room one at a time and tells me how much they loved me and will miss me.  As I slip into a comma, whichever boy I liked at the time comes in to confess that he has always loved me and should have told me so when I was alive.  Then I die… but I’m still pretty.  That was my favorite daydream.

I still have fantastic daydreams.  You know in the movies when someone gets a bright idea, then through a music montage, all the details of the plan just fall into place and voilà!  The work is done and the plan is complete!  I love that daydream.  If only life were as easy as a music montage.

I also daydream about being incredibly witty and being able to deliver just the right zinger at just the right moment.  I mean, who hasn’t lain in bed and thought about all the ways you COULD have responded to the insulting jerk you crossed paths with or the skinny snob you wanted to trip in the hall.  But I suppose if you had this gift of saying just the right thing in the right moment, then, like in the movie “You’ve Got Mail” you would have to live with regrets too.  You’d have regrets for being a “meanie” and hurting someone’s feelings when you really ARE a nice person, regrets for not holding your tongue when you should have.

But in my daydreams, I never have those kinds of regrets… I have a good laugh-track full of appropriate applause and appreciation for my zesty wit.  In real life, I hold my tongue as I was raised to and you may never know what’s going on in my head.  Is that mysterious?  ‘Cause that’s another one of my daydreams…

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: I don’t want to be the Howard Stern of blogging « Monkeys in My Bag

  2. Pingback: PAY ATTENTION! « Monkeys in My Bag

Leave a Reply

