Starting Something New

Standard

I’m a starter. I’m one of those people who starts strong and then sputters out before I’m done. My interest is in launching, not finishing. I get great satisfaction in planning to do something and then starting it. I just don’t feel rewarded by completing a project.  I’m more of a dreamer and less of a doer. I set fantastic goals but when the path to my goals gets hard, or mundane, I lose interest. Sometimes I think it would be easier to be the kind of person who doesn’t have goals. I mean, I get it. It’s a lot of work to push towards a goal. Sometimes I think I wouldn’t mind being a coaster, or a follower, or an underachiever, or a quitter. I get it. Why work so hard?  What’s the big deal about actually finishing something?  (Please hear my sarcasm, this is humor… don’t take this for theology or even advice.)

Entering a new field of interest is difficult too. There’s usually a high learning curve. Lots of time spent researching and practicing and, well, learning. And a lot of money spent on acquiring the tools needed to DO a new hobby or job. Actually, this is the part that I love about starting something new. I love accumulating new knowledge. I love buying new gadgets and supplies. It’s all the set up that I enjoy. When I was a little girl I loved dressing my Barbies and getting the dollhouse all set up… and then I was done! I drove my sister nuts. Just when she was ready to start playing I was losing interest in the game.

I like crafting, but I have about a 3-month attention span. For about 3 months I eat-sleep-breathe- and live whatever I’m interested in. Once I drill that thing into the ground, I’m bored. Once I get good at it, or at least as good as I WANT to be, I’m ready for another challenge. I am a “binge crafter.”  I have done charcoal drawing, colored pencil drawing, pastels, stamping, embossing, sewing clothes, quilting (that lasted a long time), jewelry making, watercolor painting (didn’t have the patience to let the layers dry), oil painting (too difficult to clean up), and acrylic painting. I never got into scrap booking because it was too commercialized for my tastes. I did the old fashioned scrap booking in High School when it was cool. But my point is, I have dabbled in a lot of art to find what I like and what I’m good at. I still have a long list of things I’d like to try.

And because I’m a starter, I probably won’t…

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

5 responses »

  1. Funny!!! I hate starting something new! Once I figure out I can do it, then I get excited about it! Love this new blog thing!

  2. Oh, boy. You’re preaching to the choir on this one! I am exactly the same way when it comes to crafts. And guess what – I’m ok with it! Thank the Lord my family doesn’t rely on me to knit their socks and hats. So, if I want to admire a pattern, purchase lovely yarn and start something – that’s the fun for me. I have about a dozen UFOs (unfinished objects) in my closet. I figure my hobbies are for my joy and relaxation and the point they become a burden or a downer I am allowed to stop! What a relief. We know what the important things are in life – and they have to be completed but hobby projects are not on my list. I wish we lived closer so we could swap abandoned crafts and play with each others tools and bins!

Leave a Reply

