In the Kitchen with God

Standard

Ever since they were little, each of my children has enjoyed working in the kitchen with me. It’s something that I have encouraged. I pull up a chair to the counter, tie on their little aprons that I made for them, and give each one an assignment appropriate to their age. We especially like to bake together. But when you bake with children they are bound to make a mess. They stick their fingers in the sugar, they spill flour on the floor, and they take forever doing what would take me seconds to accomplish by myself.

So why do I let my children work in the kitchen with me? Because I love them. I have things I want to teach them. And I love spending time with them. True, if I did the baking by myself I could do it much faster and with far less mess, but then I would lose the enjoyment of working in the kitchen with my kids. I do it because it’s what a good mother does.

It’s kind of the same with us and Father God. He makes space for us to work with him in the stuff he’s doing in his kitchen here on earth. Sure, we stick our fingers in things sometimes. Often we make messes in the process. And most definitely we take much longer to do things that would only take God the blink of an eye to accomplish. So why does he want to work with us humans? For the same reason that I work with my kids. He lets us participate in his projects because he has things he wants to teach us, and he enjoys spending time with us. He’s a good Father, plain and simple.

Lulu in the Kitchen

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

