I’m, like, totally not cool.

Standard

When does high school end?  I thought I was done with this place a long time ago.  I thought we all agreed that it was time to grow up and be mature adults.  I thought I was done with acne and feeling insecure.  I thought we were all “over” the popular crowd.

Sometimes I walk into a crowded room full of people my age and slightly older and I can spot right away the people who used to be in the popular crowd in high school.  They exude confidence and smell like fake tanning spray.  With one manicured hand they touch their salon highlighted locks, their other hand holds an iphone.  I don’t know the brand name of the purses they carry, but they look like money.  Every single woman over 30 wears boots and skinny jeans.  The words “nanny”, “mall”, and “designer” are sprinkled throughout their conversations.  The word “anorexia” comes to MY mind.  I am so “over” these people.

The people I look for are the ones that I have always called “the real people”.  You don’t notice them at first.  They don’t stand in circles with only their friends.  They include others.  They consider themselves Parents and are not necessarily Friends with their kids.  They know and value the difference between childhood and adulthood.  The don’t try to compete with their own teenage daughters.  When people speak to them they look at them in their faces without looking them up and down.  The real people wear practical clothing and don’t worry so much about fashion or brand names.  Real people like you even if you are overweight and haven’t been to the hairdresser in months.  Real people try to remember your name.

I thought we could stop putting people into categories once we graduated from high school.  I was wrong.  High school is just a stage audition for adult life.  At some point, I hear around age 40, people start accepting themselves and being comfortable in their own skin.  But that has nothing to do with being out of high school.

Maybe it’s just me.  Maybe I’m the only one annoyed by this.  I guess at some point I’m going to have to accept the fact that I was not cool enough in high school and I’m destined to be a dork in my adult life too.  Good thing I can laugh at myself.  Can I get a witness?!

Bueller?…. Bueller?

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

3 responses »

  1. I never thought you were a dork! You certainly aren’t one now either. I feel the same way about trying to “keep up” with the latest and greatest. I am approaching “that age” and I’ve decided that I’m a natural girl/lady and I’m just going to be the best natural me I can be. I feel like my life is lived on the inside and I just want my outside to be happy and welcoming. My problem has been that I have to remind myself that some women are just naturally “cute” and the hair and fashion are just second nature. I’ve had to be careful to not assume that “cute” women are unfriendly just because I don’t know them or because I’m insecure. I am blown away that I’m still dealing with those same issues I dealt with many moons ago. Thanks for the good word, beautiful woman of God!

    • Thanks Stephanie! Tomorrow’s post is about the Proverbs 31 woman.

      You have a good point about being careful not to assume that the pretty people are unfriendly. That’s true. Sometimes it’s hard to get to know them in a large crowd, isn’t it? Small groups and more personal settings are better. I think this post was spawned by the two zits I have on my face right now. When does THIS go away?! haha!

      • In my case, the zits cleared up right about the time the deep lines started to set in. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

