Ugh! I feel like I have a plank in my eye!

Standard

We humans have an ugly tendency to judge each other more harshly that we judge ourselves.  I’m totally guilty of this.  Here’s a very minor and admittedly shallow example, I have a little bump on the side of my nose.  It looks like a colorless mole in the crease of my nose.  It doesn’t hurt, it’s not a weird color, and it does absolutely nothing to affect my quality of life.  When I look at my face in the mirror I usually don’t even notice it anymore.  I have thought about having it removed for a grand total of about 10 seconds in my entire 30-something years of life.  It just doesn’t bother me.

But I have met a few people in my journeys who have the exact same bump on their nose (I bet we are genetically connected somewhere in our past).  And the first thought that comes to my mind is, “I can’t stop staring at that thing, why don’t they have it removed?”  Of course I continue the conversation with myself and tell myself, “It’s probably for the same reason that you never had your bump removed, because it doesn’t bother them!”  You see, I just judged someone else more harshly than I judge myself.  I applied a different standard of beauty to someone else that I can’t live up to myself.  And we all do it every day… like a million times a day in a million different ways.

Humans.  We’re kind of a rough bunch to get along with sometimes.

Jesus knew about this ugly tendency we humans have.  He said, “Before you try to get the speck of sawdust out of your buddy’s eye, you should take the 2×4 out of your own eye.”  This is figurative language at it’s finest because you’ve never seen someone walking around with a plank of wood sticking out of their eye.  But what Jesus meant was, don’t be judging everyone else so harshly while ignoring your own sins, failures, flaws and short comings.  Quit poking around in other people’s dirty laundry.  Mind your own business!  We learned that lesson in kindergarten.  It’s time to apply it in your grown up life.

So make an effort today to take it easy on each other.  And if you see the plank sticking out of my eye, just leave it alone.  Chances are it’s a bit sensitive to the touch.  Thanks.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

Leave a Reply

