My Guilty 80’s Pleasure

Standard

It’s Saturday and I’m contemplating watching a chick flick tonight.  So I’m going to gush briefly about a guilty pleasure I have.  When Josh is not at home and the kids are all in bed, I love to grab a handful of chocolate chips and watch a chick flick.  My all time, hands down favorite… Pretty in Pink.  I was a kid in the 80’s.  Molly Ringwald was my teen idol!  There is not a scene in that movie where I do not drool over her outfit.

The opening bars of the soundtrack of Pretty in Pink give me butterflies in my stomach!  I get all giggly and girly with excitement.  I have every song memorized… even the song playing on the radio in the back ground when Andy and Ducky are studying in her bedroom.  I never went to prom, but if I did I would break the mold like she did and do something really funky and cool.  Once I wore a Renaissance dress to a Valentines banquet so I know I’d have the guts to do something wild and out-of-the-box.

I think it’s cool and funny that she worked in a record store… technology has changed so much.  Speaking of the record store, the scene where Ducky dances for her to that Otis Redding song is the highlight of the whole movie!  Melts me every time.  I can not for the life of me figure out why she didn’t choose Ducky.

How about you, would you choose Blaine, the handsome rich guy or Ducky, the cool best friend?

Leave a Reply

