Beautiful Surrender

Standard

It’s late at night and I’m thinking deep thoughts.

I’m thinking that Surrender is not always a bad thing.  Think of surrendering to the contagious laughter of a friend.  Think of surrendering to the pure ecstasy and joy of holding your first child for the first time.  Think of surrendering to the first stomach dropping scream of a fantastic roller coaster.  Think of surrendering to your destiny, your purpose in life.  Think of surrendering to a peaceful sleep at the end of a long day.  Think of surrendering to love and all that that means.

When you surrender to the HOLY love of God, you have nothing to fear in that kind of surrender.  The rags of your life that you turn over to God are exchanged for perfection and beauty.  You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.  You let go of a life that does not satisfy you, a well that turns out to be empty.  And in exchange you receive the deepest satisfaction, a fountain that flows cool and refreshing.

The drowning death of baptism is the ultimate surrender of the old me to the new life of Christ in me.  And it is beautiful.

Here before your altar I am letting go of all I’ve held, of every motive, every burden, everything that’s of myself.  I just want to wait on you my God.  I just want to dwell on who you are.  Beautiful, beautiful oh I am lost for more to say.  Beautiful!  Beautiful, oh Lord, you’re beautiful to me!…

Here in your presence I am not afraid of brokenness to wash your feet with humble tears.  Oh, I would be poured out till nothing’s left.  And I just want to wait on you my God, I just want to dwell on who you are.  Beautiful, beautiful oh I am lost for more to say.  Beautiful! Beautiful oh Lord, you’re beautiful to me…”  (Beautiful, by Gateway Worship)

I will surrender myself to that kind of Holy beauty.  It might tear me apart with it’s fierceness, but I’m not afraid.  I’ll let it consume me.

Like Mary who broke her Alabaster Jar of perfume to annoint the feet of Jesus- once the breaking happens, there’s no going back.  There’s no putting that jar back together again.  It’s an all or nothing commitment.  I am not afraid of being broken if I’m to be broken for Jesus.  I am not afraid of being poured out at his feet.  That is my surrender.  And it is a beautiful surrender worthy of a beautiful God.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

Leave a Reply

