Not an Eeyore nor a Pollyanna

Standard

Well Friends, this has kind of been a heavy week in my blog world.  I hope I didn’t send anyone into depression.  I want to take a moment here to just speak to you Friend to Friend in a personal way.

Authenticity is something that is super important to me.  I feel like if I can’t be authentic then how can I expect others to be real with me?  The world is full of fake, image conscious, grasping people… and I don’t want to be lumped into that category.

So the reason that I wrote this week’s series of blogs was to be real with you.  But because it’s just a blog and not an autobiography, you only get a snap shot of what is really a complex and multi-faceted person living in a real, fallen world.  I know I sounded like I was sad and I tried not to come off as whining.  I was trying to lift off the mask for a moment and to let you hear what goes on inside my head sometimes.  But like I said, this is just one side of the story.

Most days I wake up and feel like the luckiest girl in the world.  Sometimes I just can’t believe I GET to live here.  For example, this afternoon while I was sitting in my bedroom working on the computer, two parrots almost flew into my open window!!  It startled me, but then I thought, “How cool is that?!”  I live an amazing life full of meaning and fulfillment and beauty.  I love my life.

But having said that, sometimes it’s freeing to others to hear that life isn’t ALWAYS rosy.  Missionaries don’t deserve to be put up on a pedestal, and when they are, the pressure to keep everything looking perfect is immense.  So in my blogs, I want you to get a picture of a real person just doing what God called her to do, sometimes succeeding and sometimes struggling.  I’m trying to walk the line between being a Pollyanna or an Eeyore.  It’s reality.  Some days are fantastic and some days suck.  That’s real life.

So my goal in being authentic is to really connect with people on a human level.  I want my stories to set people free to be honest about their own feelings and experiences.   Just because we love the Lord doesn’t mean we’re always comfortable and it doesn’t mean we always love what’s happening to us.  You can be totally in the center of God’s will and still be totally miserable.  It doesn’t mean you’re a failure of a Christian.  That’s just real life.

So I hope this week you actually found something in my blog to give you courage to keep on keeping on, strength to open up and be honest, and the assurance that you aren’t a failure after all.  It’s going to be alright.  Let’s be real together.

Have a wonderful weekend Friends, I’m going to go chase those parrots around just for the pleasure of it.

Just me

Just real me

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

4 responses »

  1. I agree with you one hundred percent! Being a cross-cultural worker doesn’t mean we’re super spiritual and never struggle. Thanks for sharing who you are.

Leave a Reply

