Why don’t we use the word “Repose” anymore?

Standard

“Now there was a famine in the land… The Lord appeared to Isaac and said, ‘Do not go down to Egypt; live in the land where I tell you to live.  Stay in this land for a while and I will be with you, I will bless you’… So Isaac stayed and planted crops in that year, and in the same year reaped a harvest a hundred fold becasue the Lord blessed him.”  Genesis 26

 

In church on Sunday I happened to be having a good Spanish day, my mind tracking exactly with what the pastor was preaching.  I got into the zone where I didn’t have to be translating back into English as I was listening, I was just thinking in Spanish.  Then the pastor said a phrase that just caught in my mind.  He said, “Repose en El”.  I knew he was saying “Rest in Him”, but I got stuck on the word Repose.  I tried to think of the exact English word.  I know we use the word Repose in English, but I just couldn’t think in what context.

So I went home and looked up the word in the dictionary, I mean on the internet.  And I was thrilled with what I found.  “Repose” does indeed mean rest, relax and lay down.  But it also has other uses.  It can mean:

a state of being at rest

peace, tranquility, calm

a dignified calmness of manner, composure

to rest from work or activity

to refresh by rest

to put confidence or trust in a person or thing

to put under the authority or at the disposal of a person

to deposit

This was very interesting considering the context.  The message was about what to do when a Crisis comes to your life.  When a Child of God finds himself in a Crisis of some kind, he should tune his spirit to the Lord and find out what God’s plan is.  We are not to strive and worry and stress.  We are not to follow the plans of our own minds or the natural ways of the world.  God’s ways are not our ways.  Very often God’s ways are contrary to our logic and our instinct, but if we follow His instructions, we will reap a harvest even in times of drought.  He will bless us for our obedience.

When the Crisis comes, Rest in the Lord.  Put your confidence and trust in Him.  Put yourself and your wellbeing under the authority of God.  Put all you have at God’s disposal to do with as He sees fit.  Make your deposit in the Lord.

Your calm manner, your peace and tranquility in the face of general panic and chaos will strike a stark contrast with the ways of the world.  Your soothing manner will become an oasis.  You will be the calm in the center of the storm.  When you repose in Him, you will become a very appealing oddity in the worried eyes of the world.

Are you ready to Repose in Him?  When all the world is in a panic, can you trust and rest and remain calm?  Only a true child of God will be able to put their trust in Him in the time of crisis.  Make your deposit safe in the Lord.  Repose in Him when the storm rages around you.

One of my favorite pictures. If you look closely, the guy in the doorway is holding a cup of coffee. Love that!

 

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

Leave a Reply

