Routine with a Side of Change

Standard

A hallway in the school where I teach. Yes, we have outdoor hallways. Yes, the plants in the middle get rained on.

One of the things that I really love about teaching is that it’s cyclical.  If I had to work at a desk job that is the same day in and day out, I’d go postal!  I couldn’t handle the monotony.  I like being about to look forward to some kind of change on the horizon, and teaching provides change on a regular basis.  We have the routines of starting school, which soon change for the daily routines of a semester.  Then a holiday rolls around and the routine takes a back seat to the celebration of the season.  Then we get into the new routine of the next semester, another holiday around Easter, and then a good hard push to the end of the year.  It’s cyclical but with change at regular intervals.

Even within the school day, we have our regular routines but change comes every 50 minutes when the bell rings.

Only one time in my life have I ever had a desk job, and I can safely say it was one of the worst jobs I’ve ever had… and this coming from the girl who sold ice cream at the zoo one summer!  One summer between my Junior and Senior years in college I was looking to pick up another job just for the summer.  A friend of mine was looking to go home for the summer, but she wanted her job back in the fall.  It sounded like the perfect set up for a “job sharing” arrangement.  I would work her job for 3 months, then she would come back and take her desk back.  The only problem was… the job sucked!  I wanted her to come back after the first week on the job!

The job was filing.   I thought it would be a brainless summer job.  It was indeed brainless, and after 10 minutes I was bored out of my mind!  I was filing invoices and purchase agreements in the warehouse office of an electrical supply company.  The other people who worked in the office were just foul, so I kept to myself.  I didn’t want to hear about their weekend conquests in various bars.  I didn’t want to hear them gossip and talk trash about each other.  I didn’t want to get involved in anyone’s drama.  So I just stuck my nose into my pile of papers and kept filing.

It was such a boring job that I would regularly take breaks to wander through the copy room and see if the mail had been delivered yet.  That was the excitement of my day.

At the horrible job, I talked to no one.  Snap back to school, and I talk all day long… and kids talk to me all day long too!  By about 4pm my ears are full and my introvert nature kicks into protective overdrive.  It’s like my social histamines got pushed to overload and I have an allergic reaction to people.  But my own children want to talk about THEIR day too.

My 5 year old started Kindergarten last week and I haven’t heard the end of Miss Liktey and her wonderful days of the week song.  It’s cute, but the chatter is more than I can take after a few hours.  The only proven way to turn off the talking mode is to dip her in water and put her to bed.  Bath and bed and she’s worn out.  It’s another cycle that I dearly love.

Routine peppered with an occasional change, that’s how I take my days.  Straight up.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

Leave a Reply

