She will be worth it…

Standard

Ashley and Sean, look at that ROCK on her hand! I think those smiles say that yes, it was worth the wait.

I’m on a theme this week.  What do you feel is “worth it”?

A friend of mine got engaged this last August while she was home.  Now that she’s back in San Jose we finally went out to lunch so I could hear the story in all it’s girly detail.

My friend is 30 years old… and a virgin.  Way back in her late teens, she made a promise to the Lord.  She said, “Lord, I give you my 20’s.  Do whatever you want with my life.  This decade is dedicated to you.”  And the Lord took her 20’s.

For 10 years she served God faithfully.  She poured her life into mentoring young girls.  She went on missions trips.  She served in her church.  She lived 100% for God.  This was by faith.

God made her no promises that someday she would meet “the one”, Mr. Right, the man of her dreams.  She had no assurance that she would not be single for life.  She had no “deal” with God.  She just walked through that decade by faith.  The only thing she held on to was the belief that “God is worth it”.

She believed that God had a plan.  She had faith that someday, it would be worth it all.  She sometimes cried at night.  She sometimes doubted that God knew the depth of her loneliness.  She sometimes doubted that there was a husband out there for her.  She sometimes “took back” her promise to God in her heart, but she still walked it out every day.   She believed that it would be worth it all.

Then, less than a year ago.  God brought a man into her life.  This man had made a promise to God too.  This man had given God his 20’s as well.  This man was 30 years old… and still a virgin.

When he proposed to my friend he said, “you are not the girl of my dreams… you are better than I could have ever dreamed!”  I am sure he will feel that waiting for her was so worth it.  It was not easy, but it was worth it.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

  1. Hi
    Gr8 report! I’m 33, and totally relate. It can be tough at times…

    Want to add two things:

    1) enjoy the gift of singleness. Learn to like yourself, & enjoy spending time with the Lord. You won’t regret.

    2) many are engaged after a yr of dating. If you are not, trust in the Lord. Enjoy the process.

    Just my 2 cents. I’m dating a gr8 man, we are both saving ourselves… After 2 + yrs; I’m waiting 4 the ring… His plan is not ours, but BETTER🙂

    • Awesome! I know that God’s plan is always sweeter and more fulfilling in whatever form it comes. Good for you for waiting and doing things the right way. You will be (are) a testimony and inspiration to many.

Leave a Reply

