What’s Your Life Verse?

Standard

I grew up in the church and I loved it.  For me to have to pick my favorite Bible verse is about as impossible as having to choose my favorite U2 song, it just can’t be done.  But when I think about the verse that I most reference in my heart and mind when I’m thinking about the direction of my life, then I know right where to turn.  It is the verse that acts as a standard or rule of thumb for every decision I make.  If a choice is contrary to the heart of this verse, then I know it’s not the right choice for me.  This is the verse that I start with.  This is the verse that forms me and defines me more than any other.  Ready to hear it?

“One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.”  Psalm 27:4

You may think this is an odd verse to chose for a Life Verse, but this is the thing that I long for the most.  This verse puts into words the cry of my heart.  So here’s my challenge for you today, think about what Bible verse could be your Life Verse- the verse that defines what or who you are, the verse you cling to when times get rough, the one you have hanging over the door of your heart.  There are a lot of good ones out there… and there’s no wrong answer (though I can tell your inner junior higher is dying to pull out some gross verse from the Old Testament).  Then once you know what your verse is… tell someone else!  Share it with someone else and see where the conversation leads you.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

  1. Mine is “Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10 I’m a natural “do-er” and think I can solve everything..sometimes my “doing” is worrying, and I need to shut off my brain and know that God has this one!🙂

Leave a Reply

