Thank you for one year

Standard

Yesterday I received a congratulations from WordPress.  It my my blog’s 1-year anniversary.  Many of you have been reading for a while now.  I admit, I am a subscriber to other blogs, and I don’t read them every single day.  So I understand if you are a regular “browser” like I am.  I don’t mind.  Not even my mother reads my blog every day!  But that’s OK.

I still think it’s amazing that ANYONE reads blogs at all.  I remember when the concept of a journal posted on the internet for all the world to see seemed like the epitome of narcissism- vanity in the extreme!  I was turned off by the whole idea.  But little by little I started reading other people’s blogs and thinking… Yesh, if that doofus can write a blog, I could write a better one!  No, just kidding.  I thought, maybe this isn’t as creepy as it sounded at first.

I started my blog as an exercise in writing.  I challenged myself to write one blog for every weekday for a whole year.  I wasn’t sure if I could generate enough ideas to go for a year.  But somehow I posted my 300th blog on January 1… and some of you have been there for the lion’s share of them!  So thank you.

Thank you for reading when you should be working.  Thank you for commenting even if it meant you had to make an Avitar in order to LEAVE a comment.  Thank you for your encouraging words and stimulating ideas!  Thank you for not being mean (and those of you who were… I just deleted your comments, so there!).  Thank you for listening when you don’t even know me.  Thank you for living out your daily faith-walk with me as we sojourn through this foreign land to our eternal home.  Thanks for reading.  And I’ll make you a genuine “pie crust promise” (easily made- easily broken, says Mary Poppins) I’ll keep writing as long as people keep reading.

Happy One Year Anniversary from Monkeys in My Bag!

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

