Puns don’t translate

Standard

Today is Labor Day in several Latin American countries, Mexico and Costa Rica included.  It is also my daughter’s 6th birthday.  She’s our “bonus baby”.  She was born in Mexico City in one of the finest private hospitals in the country, and yet, it was eerily similar to how I would imagine having a baby in the 1950’s would have been… except with modern machines and technology in the room.  I tried to crack a joke with the nurses.  I told them that I was in labor on Labor Day.  The pun fell flat when I tried to explain that in English we use the same word for “work” and “giving birth”.  A joke is not funny if you have to explain it.  However, Lucy was born.  She is our little “Mexicana” and she uses this status as an excuse for everything.

“Lucy, you are being so noisy.  Please stop talking for two seconds.”

“Mom, it’s how us Mexicans ARE!”  She quips without missing a beat.

Silly girl.  Happy Birthday Lu Lu!  I can’t imagine our family without you.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

One response »

  1. Lol. Well, you know how those “Mexicans” are. : ) That’s too funny. Yes, we hear you. We often try to explain puns in Argentina – basically the same response. I feel the same way when they try to explain theirs to us. lol.

    God bless you guys
    Pass on our “Happy Birthday!” to your little bonus child –

Leave a Reply

