Renewal

Standard

Today I asked for a substitute teacher to take my class so I could participate in a prayer retreat with our mission.  I’m really excited.  Part of me is just looking forward to being with our fellow missionary family for a while.  Part of me is happy for a change in my routine.  But a huge part of me has been longing for some deep time with the Lord.  I have been running on fumes for a while, and I need to fill my tank.  I just want to BE in His presence.  It’s like a date with the one I love!

So in lieu of a decent blog, I have a great quote that a friend posted on Facebook this week.

“We are people who are always looking for ways to stay out of the wilderness, when in reality so much of the best stuff that God wants to do in and through us can only happen in the wilderness. We keep trying to stay away from the only place where transformation can happen. We keep trying to move out from the only place where we can truly meet with God. Wilderness is not always about judgment. In the OT prophets over and over again go into the wilderness so that they can get clarity and perspective, so that they can encounter God. We spend so much time trying to take detours around the ONLY place where we can encounter God in such a way and be completely transformed.” -P. Jonathan Martin
silk-road-9-3_l
I’m going out to the wilderness for a while, spiritually speaking.  Don’t call me even if you need me.

 

Photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/jonathankosread/6262245025/”>Jonathan Kos-Read</a> / <a href=”http://foter.com”>Foter.com</a&gt; / <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/”>CC BY-ND</a>

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

Leave a Reply

