The Ironing Fairy

Standard

wrinkled-front-white_lI hate the Ironing Fairy.  Every night I lay out my clothes for tomorrow and go to bed with the hope that she will come while I sleep and magically iron my clothing.  She is such a disappointment.  I’m starting to doubt that she really exists, but I’m not ready to give up hope just yet.  If I give up hope, it means that I have to admit that I have to do my own ironing.  If I had any extra money, I would hire someone to do this job for me.  I hate ironing.  It’s so tedious and boring.

I wish that every experience was meaningful and profound, but it’s not.  A lot of life is just drudgery.  Oswald Chambers writes:

“Drudgery is the test of genuine character.  The greatest hinderance in our spiritual life is that we will only look for big things to do.  Yet Jesus took a towel and began to wash the disciples’ feet… (John 13:3-5)  We all have those times when there are no flashes of light and no apparent thrill to life, where we experience nothing but the daily routine with it’s common everyday tasks.  The routine of life is actually God’s way of saving us between our times of great inspiration which come from Him.  Don’t always expect God to give you His thrilling moments, but learn to live in those common times of the drudgery of life by the power of God.”

I know, I should be thankful that I even HAVE clothes to iron.  It’s not the end of the world.  I guess I’ll put on some worship music and attack my pile of ironing for the month. That darn Ironing Fairy is such a let down.

Photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/ir0cko/2625883027/”>ir0cko</a&gt; / <a href=”http://foter.com”>Foter.com</a&gt; / <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>CC BY</a>

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

  1. Dear “amamiot”. I also am a missionary in Costa Rica (San José) and a friend of mine posted me the link to your blog. I don’t have a blog, but am on FB. I’m not a mom, but I am “doing life” and am a wife.
    I just so enjoyed your post about ironing, especially as a friend who use to come to help me now can’t and had to set to iron 3 weeks of clothes – in particular 18 shirts of my husband! Fortunately we have a friend visiting and so while they talked I ironed in the same room and it was much less tedious. I haven’t started on his pants yet – always tricky to iron.
    Love and blessings from a fellow sufferer!

Leave a Reply

