OMG there are lines on the road!

Standard

We all have our “thing” that irrationally drives us nuts on the mission field.  For some people it’s the way the motorcycle drivers feel free to drive on the opposite side of the road, obstructing on coming traffic.  For others it’s the deliberate slowness of a government process until certain “tips” are paid.  For me it’s the national obsession with communally brushing your teeth in the public bathrooms after lunch (that’s what gum is for!  please don’t prop your toothbrush on the edge of the sink.)  For my husband, it is the lack of lines painted on the roads.  I don’t know why.

Anyhow.  Last Christmas they tore up the main road by our house, the one we drive on a dozen times a day.  We thought, “Hurray!  They are going to repave the road during the Christmas season when the city basically shuts down.  Good thinking.”  That was only partially true.  Over the course of the next 4 months the road was resurfaced in part or as a whole about 4 times and each time the edges from road to curb or road to side street were left rough and dangerously unfinished.  But the most annoying thing for my husband was that they never painted lines on the street again.

I was a little confused about why that bothered him so much because most of the roads in the country do not have lines painted on them, and when they do have lines, those lanes are really just suggestions.  They do nothing to keep traffic on its proper side of the road.  The double center line acts like a special “immune to all traffic laws” lane for motorcycles and a midway stopping point for pedestrians crossing the street in “Frogger” style.  So I really didn’t think anyone else cared that the lines were not repainted on the main road.

But the other day Josh and the kids excitedly rushed into the house and demanded that I guess what was happening on the road.  “They are painting lines!!!!”

“Ahh, that’s good,”  was my mild reaction.  But in my mind I was thinking, “Oh good, now I won’t have to hear about how annoying it is every time we drive on that road.  Finally my husband will have peace of mind.”  And it’s true.

The only comments I hear now are, “Look how nice those lines look against the fresh black top.” and “Hey Dude! Stay in your lane!  That’s what the lines are for,” as the motorcycles go wizzing by on the left hand side.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

3 responses »

  1. It’s all in how you look at it. I remember a Seinfeld episode where Kramer repainted some lines on a highway to give the drivers wider lanes. Unfortunately, the result caused a few accidents, but hey, just look at it as an opportunity. Head down to the Home Depot and buy some white paint. Americans do it yourself. This of it as a fun adventure. Make a pedestrian mall outside your frint gate. Install a bike path. Be creative. Make your street one-way!

    • I love that episode. Believe me, the thought has crossed my mind MANY times that I would love to paint lines in certain difficult intersections!

Leave a Reply

