Contentment swelling in my heart

Standard

This morning I sat in my Costa Rican rocking chair on my front patio with my Bible open on my lap and a coffee cup in my hand.  I looked up into the cloudless, brilliant blue sky then down into my rainy-season green yard.  Deep contentment swelled in my heart even as a distant car alarm broke the background of Sunday morning silence.  I thanked God for all He has done for me and for giving me this life I love.  I thought of our friends here in Costa Rica.  I once again thanked God for putting them in our life and giving them a faithful love for us.  It is a rich blessing to feel God’s love shining on you through another person.

Then my eyes drifted to the rescued Ficus tree in the center of my yard.  Salvaged from an infancy of neglect, he’s looking like a healthy, happy child a growing strong in a circle of sunshine.  I am happy that such a sad little tree could be revived.  A scripture verse floated into my consciousness.  “…He is like a tree planted by streams of water…”  I know that verse by heart, Psalm 1, yet I reach for my Bible to hear what the Lord is whispering to me.

“Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, or stand in the way of sinners, or sit in the seat of mockers.  But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.  He is like a tree planted by streams of water which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.  Whatever he does prospers.”  Psalm 1:1-3

The Lord spoke encouragement to my heart and told me that I am like the tree planted by streams of water.  I delight myself in the Lord.  I keep my thoughts on Him day and night- casting my burdens of worry and care on His ample shoulders.  I am free to grow tall.  In the right season, I will produce fruit.  I won’t grow weary and dry.  Whatever I do, the Lord will prosper because I am rooted in Him.  I push my thirsty roots deeper into His Word, sucking up the life I find in Him.  And I exhale deep, cleansing contentment.  I am at peace in the circle of His Sonlight.

Photo credit: esther** / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

Photo credit: esther** / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

