I Became a Foreigner

Standard

I totally relate to this blog!  I’d only add that going to Walmart becomes something surreal for us missionaries.  If we aren’t crying about not being able to make a choice in the salad dressing aisle, then we are straining our ears to hear the Spanish being spoken by the shoppers in the next aisle over.  Just a quick run for diapers can require a week of therapy.  It’s such a roller coaster ride!

ReEntry Shock is a real thing for missionaries.  This is a raw, bare bones account of what becomes a universal experience for people who live overseas.  Coming home is never the same again- home changes, people change, and we wonder if you still remember us and love us.  Please read this blog and feel free to comment.

I Became a Foreigner.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

Leave a Reply

