Necessity is the Mother of… Pintrest

Standard

I shut down my Pintrest account about a year ago (you can read about WHY I did that here.) But I am still crafty and ingenious when it comes to making do with having less.  I don’t need a Pintrest page… I live it!  Let me give you some examples of making do and repurposing items that I’ve had to come up with here in Costa Rica.

Our kitchen is actually very American in size and style.  But one of the things it’s lacking is drawers.   So I had to find a place to put the silverware.  I bought four green glass blocks and a long piece of wood at the hardware store to build a shelf over the back of the sink right under the window.  Then I found some decorative jars to put on the shelf to hold our silverware.  It’s super convenient and now I’m sure I can never go back to putting silverware in drawers.  I also bought several large flowerpots to store spatulas, tongs and large knives right on the counter where they are always handy.

You can see my silverware jars in the background.

You can see my silverware jars in the background.

Another way that I’ve repurposed items is in my bedroom.  I have a lot of necklaces and other jewelry.  At our local discount store I found several cooling racks for baking.  I bought adhesive hooks to hang the racks over my desk.  Then using S-hooks I hang my jewelry on the wall like art!  Pintrest eat your heart out! (This week I asked my daughter to organize my jewelry by color.  She was exceedingly excited for this project.  Girl after my own heart.)

You can see the jewelry, cooling racks on the wall above my desk.

You can see the jewelry, cooling racks on the wall above my desk.

When we first moved to this house I was really bothered that there was no closet or coat rack by the front door.  Shoes and jackets and bags just piled up behind the door.  I drove me crazy.  So I asked my husband to build me something.  He thought it was insane when I first explained that my idea was to use doors to hold coat hooks and a bench that doubled as a shoe rack.  But he indulged me and followed my instructions even though he couldn’t imagine what it was going to look like.  Now he proudly accepts all the credit for building one of the coolest coat racks that anyone has ever seen.  Everyone who sees it wants one too.  (Of course I just let him soak up the praise… because I’m going to need him to build the next thing I dream up.)

My amazing coat rack made of doors and a shoe rack.  Thanks Babe for listening even though you thought I was crazy!

My amazing coat rack made of doors and a shoe rack. Thanks Babe for listening even though you thought I was crazy!

But my most recent (and currently my favorite) Pintrest worthy craft is in my office at school.  Unfortunately it’s so new that I don’t have a photo yet.  However, I found these amazing square, bamboo bowls for about $4 each at our discount store.  The next time we took a family day at the beach, I planned ahead.  I brought home two large cream cheese containers full of black volcanic sand with a stunning gold fleck in it.  I already have buckets full of shells that my kids have collected, so I just combined the sand and some shells in my discount bamboo bowl to make my own zen garden for my desk top.  You would not believe how therapeutic that pretty little sand box has become.  No one can resist sticking their fingers in that fine black softness and scooping around with the dainty shell cups.  I’m pretty proud of that stroke of genius and I didn’t even need Pintrest to show me how.

About amamiot

My family and I are missionaries in Costa Rica. Before that we lived in Mexico and before that we came from Minnesota. I am a teacher, an artist, a "journaler", a quilter, a cooker, a baker, a hostess, a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a friend. I like reading and watching movies (ehem, and quoting movie lines). I would love to be in a Jane Austin movie but I don't know how to ballroom dance or play Whist.

4 responses »

  1. Nicely done! I love re-dos of old things. It’s a win win in so many ways🙂 And a necessity for missionaries living on a missionary budget. I did a whole thing about “redesign on a missionary dime” a couple years ago. Maybe its time to do another.

Leave a Reply

